VD

Valentine’s Day is tomorrow, and I’m trying to figure out what’s the point of 1 specific day out of a year where you show the love of your life just how much you really love them. To be honest, I think it’s a crock of shit. The myth goes, “people who talk bad about a holiday only bitch and moan because they have no one to share it with.” LOL!! Well that’s a shitty load too. Excuse me my dear readers as I produce a vicious rant as to why this day is some bullshit.

Maybe it would be all sweet and cute for first timers to celebrate this day. Kissy-kissy and exchanging of the gifts. That’s so sweet. But understand that once you get to an age where bullshit is bullshit and the reality of a relationship is how much work and effort that you put in over whatever period of time the 2 of you have been together, then we can talk about something. You should be showing appreciation and love throughout your entire time of togetherness. I mean, let’s think about this thing; VD is not what brought you together. You are with one another for whatever reasons the laws of attraction brought you together. So in my opinion, your apprecation should show for those reasons… on a daily/weekly/monthly basis. Or whatever suits your schedule.

Red here, pink there. Hearts, flowers and whatnots. The perfect timing for a mutha’fucka to kiss ass for all the wrong-doing done since last years VD. I’m not buying it and you shouldn’t either. In high school it was fun. I was never expecting anything, but being as though I never dated anyone in school, I always received something at the front office because guys who were out of school had a job and time to go pick that shit up. It’s an awesome feeling walking around with flowers and teddy bears and candy, and balloons. Basically a bunch of bullshit that kept my attention off my school work. Now that I think about it, it really could have waited until I got home.

Valentine’s Day is a VD. It’s a 1 day disease. Everyone goes into an uproar like they’re itching and shit and just gots to have the cure. “Omg”, “It’s beeeaauutiful”, “Thank you”, “I love you”, “I’m going to have to do some extra for you tonight…”. This is also shit that could have been given at random. At Christmas. Birthday. But nooooo, everyone wants to wait and catch the VD. And by the time the 15th gets here, it’s over. Like a quick 2 humps and bust one, you are left to dry. It’s over like nothing ever happened. Love me for a day and leave me tomorrow. I think I would rather do without. No one should have to tell or even make us show appreciation to our partners. It’s a forceful anticdote placed on those who bullshit throughout the year, and believe it or not, it works… for them.

I’m not a fan of gifts. I’m a fan of moments. If we were taught to create historical moments, then the world would be a better place. Give me a VD I couldn’t live without, and I would happily scratch it.

Until next time bloggers….

7 thoughts on “VD

  1. I do agree with the fact that you should be doing certain things in a relationship all year around. Valentine’s day is just a day to go do something you always do. If you guys like movies, go see a movie. It’s just something to do for the day. I’m not saying you have to go crazy because I don’t think you should do that. This is for relationships only though. If you’re just dating, I wouldn’t do anything.

    • So glad you decided to drop a line! Thank you for reading and commenting Reemachronicles.

      “Valentine’s day is just a day to go do something you always do”… absolutely!!!

      And with that being said, my thing is I feel it serves no justice if the extra effort hasn’t or wasn’t been taken within the time of the year prior to. I don’t want to go out just because it’s Valentine’s Day. Take me out or present me with a gift after I just cooked your meal or washed the clothes, taking care of the kids, y’know? Just because… I’m me.

      I don’t need or even want a special day. I want a special forever. *insert daydreaming effects here* lol

  2. Your points are similar to my thinking and reasoning in a guest post I did today. Overall, V-day is a swindle and hustle to me. I know it still means something to my lady, and that’s fine. But to hold 2/14 up as this shining example of a day love should be celebrated? Nah, miss me all the way with that.

    • Glad to have youback Sunny!

      I use to. But that was back in the days where I was vulnerable for that extra, LOL!!! Now it’s just a bunch of BS. Might be because I’m getting old.. LMAO!!

Leave a Reply

